Monday, 7 September 2009

Hank Jones “Hanky Panky”

Hank Jones

Hanky Panky
( LP East Wind Records, 1975 )
Catalog # EW-8021 , Japan

Side A
1 – Nothin’ beats an evil woman
2 – Warm blue stream
3 – Confidence
4 – Wind flower
5 – Minor contention
Side B
1 – Favors
2 – As long as l live
3 – Oh waht a beautiful morning
4 – Hanky panky

Personnel & Credits:
Ron Carter (Bass)
Hank Jones (Piano)
Hank Jones (Arranger)
Hank Jones (Main Performer)
Hank Jones (Selection)
Grady Tate (Drums)
Claus Ogerman (Composer)
Kiyoski Itoh (Producer)
Dave Baker (Engineer)
Yukio Morisaki (Promotional Director)
Tadayuki Naitoh (Photography)
Eiko Ishioka (Design)
Yasohachi “88″ Itoh (Producer)
Motoko Naruse (Design)
Hisamitsu Noguchi (Liner Notes)
Toshinari Koinuma (Executive Producer)
David Baker (Engineer)

This trio album led by pianist Hank Jones features Ron Carter on bass and Grady Tate on drums. Song selection and arrangement were done by Hank Jones. The original concept of the LP was to feature songs by relatively new composers (at the time) that Hank liked on Side 1. These tracks include two compositions by Sara Cassey, “Warm Blue Stream” and “Wind Flower.” Also included on “Side 1” is Hank’s original composition, “Minor Contention.” On Side 2, Hank selected popular jazz standards, which include “Oh, What a Beautiful Morning,” a well-known Rodgers and Hammerstein song from the play Oklahoma! and “As Long As I Live,” a song written for a Cotton Club revue called “Parade” by Harold Arlen and Ted Koehler and later made famous by Lena Horne.

Recorded at Vanguard Studios, New York on July 14 & 15, 1975

By Celo

1 comment:

Anonymous said...



NOTE: Pictures copyright held by photographers. If you are the photographer of any picture and would like it removed please email us.

''Quidquid id est, timeo Danaos et dona ferentis.''

©® 2006-2016 My Favourite Sound© 1.0 (CC Licensed 3.0)