Monday, 7 September 2009

Milt Jackson ”Bebop”

Milt Jackson

( LP Atlantic Records, 1988 )
Catalog # 670.4217
(Brazilian Press)
Original on East-West Records, Inc. , 1988

1.Au Privave
2.Good Bait
3.Woody ‘N You
4.Now’s the Time
6.Groovin’ High
7.Birks’ Works
8.Salt Peanuts

Milt Jackson (vibraphone)
Jimmy Heath (tenor saxophone)
Jon Faddis (trumpet)
J.J. Johnson (trombone)
Cedar Walton (piano)
John Clayton (bass)
Mickey Roker (drums)

Original vinyl rip

Review: By Scott Yanow
The music on this set certainly lives up to its title. Vibraphonist Milt Jackson welcomes some of his best musical friends, including both veterans and a couple of younger greats including trumpeter Jon Faddis, trombonist J.J. Johnson, Jimmy Heath on tenor, pianist Cedar Walton, bassist John Clayton and drummer Mickey Roker. Together they perform nine classic songs from the bop era with the emphasis on medium and up-tempo workouts. Few surprises occur but the hard-swinging music largely meets one's expectations. [Bebop was also released with a bonus track.]
By Scott Yanow (AMG)

By Pier

1 comment:

Anonymous said...



NOTE: Pictures copyright held by photographers. If you are the photographer of any picture and would like it removed please email us.

''Quidquid id est, timeo Danaos et dona ferentis.''

©® 2006-2016 My Favourite Sound© 1.0 (CC Licensed 3.0)