Monday, 7 September 2009

Albert King “King Of The Blues Guitar”

Albert King

King Of The Blues Guitar
( LP Atlantic Records, 1969 )
Catalog # SD 8213
Also reissued on Atlantic Rec., 1989
Catalog # 7567 82017 2

01 Laundromat Blues
02 Overall Junction
03 Oh, Pretty Woman
04 Funk-Shun
05 Crosscut Saw
06 Down Don’t Bother Me [*]
07 Born Under a Bad Sign
08 Personal Manager
09 Kansas City [*]
10 The Very Thought of You [*]
11 The Hunter [*]
12 I Almost Lost My Mind [*]
13 As the Years Go Passing By [*]
14 Cold Feet
15 You Sure Drive a Hard Bargain
16 (I Love) Lucy
17 You’re Gonna Need Me
[*] Bonus Tracks

Atlantic’s original vinyl edition of this was comprised of Albert’s Stax singles — a few from Born Under a Bad Sign, along with “Cold Feet,” “I Love Lucy” (two of King’s patented monologues), and the beautiful “You’re Gonna Need Me.” Great stuff. Even greater, though, is the reissue, which includes those singles (which didn’t appear on any other LPs) and all of Born Under a Bad Sign. Need I say more?
By Dan Forte (AMG)

By Rob

1 comment:

Anonymous said...



NOTE: Pictures copyright held by photographers. If you are the photographer of any picture and would like it removed please email us.

''Quidquid id est, timeo Danaos et dona ferentis.''

©® 2006-2016 My Favourite Sound© 1.0 (CC Licensed 3.0)