Tuesday, 8 September 2009

Jimmy McGriff ”The Main Squeeze”

Jimmy McGriff

The Main Squeeze
( LP Groove Merchant Records, 1974 )
Catalog # GM 534

a. The Worm Turns (J. McGriff) – 4:15
b. The Sermon (J. Smith) – 3:03
c. The Blues Train to Georgia (J. McGriff) – 4:59
d. Misty (Erroll Garner/Johnny Burke) – 7:30
e. The Main Squeeze (J. McGriff) – 3:40
f. GMI (J. McGriff) – 4:45
g. These Foolish Things (Remind Me of You) (Harry Link/Jack Strachey/Holt Marvell) – 5:22
h. Stella by Starlight (Victor Young/Ned Washington) – 4:24

Personnel & Notes:
Connie Lester (as)
Jimmy McGriff (org,key)
Jimmy Ponder (g)
Eddie Gladden (d)
Recorded in New York: c. 1974
From original vinyl record

Like so many Jimmy McGriff albums, Main Squeeze percolates but never quite boils over. It's a collection of short, sharp and oh-so-sincere funk workouts performed with both style and skill, the album simply plays its cards too close to the vest, controlling the groove but never giving in to it. Paired with guitarist Jimmy Ponder and altoist Connie Lester, McGriff moves effortlessly from originals ("The Worm Turns") to standards ("Stella by Starlight") to soul-jazz signifiers (Jimmy Smith's "The Sermon"), vamping and wailing but never letting go -- the tracks are more short stories than epic poems, tightly controlled and frustratingly limited in both style and scope.
By Jason Ankeny (AMG)

By Pier

1 comment:

Anonymous said...



NOTE: Pictures copyright held by photographers. If you are the photographer of any picture and would like it removed please email us.

''Quidquid id est, timeo Danaos et dona ferentis.''

©® 2006-2016 My Favourite Sound© 1.0 (CC Licensed 3.0)