Tuesday, 8 September 2009

Midnight Movers Unltd. “Truckin’”

Midnight Movers Unltd.

( LP Funky Delicacies Records )
Catalog # 0024

1 Pickin’ and Chippin’
2 Sweet Darling
3 Medicated Goo
4 Crabs
5 Stop Look and Listen
6 Tough Enough
7 Try Our Thang
8 Why Don’t We Do It In The Road
9 Music Makers
10 Funk Don’t Mean A Scent
11 In the Palm of Another’s Hand
12 Truckin
13 Put Your Mind In Your Pocket
14 Masai Do the Masai Children
15 Something Has Got to Change (new edit)
16 Follow the Wind (Part 1)
17 Follow the Wind (Part 2)

Charles Pitts Jr. (guitar)
George Patterson (alto saxophone)
Jack “Pot” Philpot (baritone saxophone)
Curtis Pope (trumpet)
Earnest Smith (bass guitar)
Abbel “Woody” Woodson (drums)
Recording information: Chicago, Illinois (1967 – 1972)

The Midnight Movers “Truckin’” consists of rare and unreleased masters that have not been available for over 30 years. Leader George Patterson first strengthened his chops as an ensemble player with the Chess House Band, which included drummer Maurice White who later formed Earth, Wind, and Fire. He then formed The Movers as a backup band for the penultimate soul-shouter Wilson Pickett, whose hit “I’m a Midnight Mover” served as the inspiration for the group’s name. Most of these recordings date to the group’s tenure in New York in the late 60s, when they alternated between Road Work for the Wicked One and as the house band for the Isley Brothers Tee-Neck records, where they laid down the tracks for the legendary hit “It’s Your Thing.”

By Pier

1 comment:

Anonymous said...



NOTE: Pictures copyright held by photographers. If you are the photographer of any picture and would like it removed please email us.

''Quidquid id est, timeo Danaos et dona ferentis.''

©® 2006-2016 My Favourite Sound© 1.0 (CC Licensed 3.0)