Tuesday, 1 September 2009

Direct Current ”Direct Current”

Direct Current

Direct Current
( Disco Mix/Mini LP TEC Records, 1979 )
Catalog # TEC 159

A1 Sweet Release (7:30)
Arranged By – Gerald Smith
Written-By – Jan Nace, Tom Glenn
A2 Everybody Here Must Party (6:58)
Arranged By – Morris Bailey
Written-By – Deborah Clement, Denise Clement,
Dorothy Clement
B1 Boogie Man (6:36)
Arranged By – Morris Bailey
Written-By – Blanche Carter, Morris Bailey
B2 Nothing Can Stop Us (5:49)
Arranged By – Gerald Smith
Written-By – Joyce Ross

Personnel & Credits:
Mixed By – Billy Kennedy
Producer – Doug King, Nick Martinelli

Produced for King / Stewart Productions.
(P) 1979 TEC

A1 – M & A Publishing & Nace-Glenn Music Co., ASCAP
A2 – M & A Publishing, ASCAP
B1 – Rita Sue Music & Miss Vera Music BMI
B2 – M & A Publishing, ASCAP

Philadelphia vocal group Direct Current’s lineup was Deborah, Dorothy, and Denise Clement. The trio’s sole charting single, “Everybody Here Must Party,” was released on Philly label TEC and made it to number 83 R&B on the R&B chart in summer 1979. The album of the same name followed that year, and the trio were also heard on Instant Funk’s 1982 Salsoul LP Looks So Fine, which included “Why Don’t You Think About Me,” the swaying ballad “Jumpin’ to Conclusions,” the NBA tribute “Slam Dunk the Funk,” and the skaters/steppers favorite “Gotta Like That.” Nick Martinelli (Loose Ends, Stephanie Mills, Regina Belle) and songwriter Johnny Bellmon (Wilson Pickett’s “Don’t Let the Green Grass Fool You”) were among the group’s producers.
By Ed Hogan (AMG)

By Pier

1 comment:

Anonymous said...



NOTE: Pictures copyright held by photographers. If you are the photographer of any picture and would like it removed please email us.

''Quidquid id est, timeo Danaos et dona ferentis.''

©® 2006-2016 My Favourite Sound© 1.0 (CC Licensed 3.0)