Friday, 13 November 2009

Sonny Rollins "Sonny Boy"

Sonny Rollins

(LP Prestige, 1956)
Catalog # PRLP 7207
** Also issued on Fantasy OJC 348, OJCCD 348-2.

Personnel :
Sonny Rollins, Tenor sax
Kenny Dorham, Trumpet ("The House I Live In")
Kenny Drew, Piano
George Morrow, Bass
Max Roach, Drums
Wade Legge, Piano ("The House I Live In")

Tracklisting :
01 Ee-Ah Rollins
02 B. Quick
03 B. Swift
04 The House I Live In
05 Sonny Boy

"The House I Live In" : Rudy Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, NJ,
October 5, 1956;
All the other selections : Rudy Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, NJ,
December 7, 1956

Review :
The music on this album was the last of tenor saxophonist Sonny Rollins' Prestige dates to appear on new format. Actually the release is a bit odd for it reissues four of the six numbers from the previously released Tour de Force (OJC 095), replacing "My Ideal" and "Two Different Worlds" (the latter an Earl Coleman vocal) with "The House I Live In" from an earlier session that resulted in the Plays for Bird album; usually the Original Jazz Classics series avoids such duplication. Tour de Force is a more logical purchase although the music on this record does feature the immortal tenor saxophonist in fine form with a quartet comprised of pianist Kenny Drew, bassist George Morrow and drummer Max Roach (other than the earlier selection which also has trumpeter Kenny Dorham). A bit of a discographical mess.
By Scott Yanow [AMG]

By Rob

1 comment:

Anonymous said...


NOTE: Pictures copyright held by photographers. If you are the photographer of any picture and would like it removed please email us.

''Quidquid id est, timeo Danaos et dona ferentis.''

©® 2006-2016 My Favourite Sound© 1.0 (CC Licensed 3.0)