Thursday, 26 November 2009

Rufus Thomas & Carla Thomas "Chronicle: Their Greatest Stax Hits"

Rufus Thomas & Carla Thomas

(LP Stax Records,1979)
Catalog # STX-4124

Tracklisting :
01 Do The Funky Chicken
02 Sixty Minute Man
03 The Preacher And The Bear
04 (Do The) Push And Pull (Part 1)
05 The World Is Round
06 The Breakdown (Part 1)
07 Do The Funky Penguin
08 Where Do I Go
09 I've Fallen In Love
10 I Like What You're Doing (To Me)
11 Guide Me Well
12 You've Got A Cushion To Fall On
13 (Do The) Push And Pull (Part 2)
14 The Breakdown (Part 2)
15 Sugar

Review :
Rufus and Carla Thomas helped launch the Stax era, both individually and as a team. Thomas brought his daughter to Stax in the hopes of finding suitable material, and she soon had "Gee Whiz" soaring to the top. Had Carla chosen to tour extensively, she might have been a great star in Aretha Franklin's class; she sang with equal ferocity and power during this period. Rufus Thomas parlayed his dance/novelty tracks into international superstardom, but he was also a fine straight soul vocalist. This album splits its bill between the two, offering each a side to showcase their hits.
By Ron Wynn [AMG]

By Rob

1 comment:

Anonymous said...


NOTE: Pictures copyright held by photographers. If you are the photographer of any picture and would like it removed please email us.

''Quidquid id est, timeo Danaos et dona ferentis.''

©® 2006-2016 My Favourite Sound© 1.0 (CC Licensed 3.0)