Friday, 4 September 2009

James Brown “The Singles” The Federal Years,1956-’60

James Brown

“The Singles”
The Federal Years,1956-’60

Disc 1:
1. Please, Please, Please
2. Why Do You Do Me
3. I Don’t Know
4. I Feel That Old Feeling Coming On
5. No, No, No, No
6. Hold My Baby’s Hand
7. I Won’t Plead No More
8. Chonnie-On-Chon
9. Just Won’t Do Right
10. Let’s Make It
11. Gonna Try
12. Can’t Be The Same
13. Messing With The Blues
14. Love Or A Game
15. You’re Mine, You’re Mine
16. I Walked Alone
17. That Dood It
18. Baby Cries Over The Ocean
19. Begging, Begging
20. That’s When I Lost My Heart;

Disc 2:
1. Try Me
2. Tell Me What I Did Wrong
3. I Want You So Bad
4. There Must Be A Reason
5. I’ve Got To Change
6. It Hurts To Tell You
7. I’ve Got To Change stereo version
8. It Hurts To Tell You stereo version
9. Doodle Bee
10. Bucket Head
11. It Was You
12. Got To Cry
13. Good Good Lovin’
14. Don’t Let It Happen To Me
15. I’ll Go Crazy
16. I Know It’s True
17. Think
18. You’ve Got The Power duet with Bea Ford
19. This Old Heart
20. Wonder When You’re Coming Home

In the annals of popular music, one artist reigns supreme as the No. 1 R&B Singles Artist of All Time: James Brown. By far. Now, on the 50th Anniversary of Brown’s professional recording debut, this special order limited edition is the first in a series of 2-LP collections chronicling every single from “The Hardest Working Man In Show Business.” Kicking off the series is The Federal Years: 1956-1960, with 40 songs, from the first hit, the Top 5 “Please, Please, Please,” which remains his signature sign-off, to “Think,” which showcased the sound of things to come. Brown and the Famous Flames had signed with King Records in January, 1956, and as a young, unproven act were placed with King’s Federal subsidiary label. These 40 tracks alone make for a historic and compelling collection, as Brown went from a hit his first time out, to his future being in jeopardy eight flops in a row! to becoming one of the best R&B acts in the country. But this set includes an extraordinary bonus track: the long-lost demo for “Try Me,” which when re-recorded in New York, became Brown’s first of many R&B No. 1 hits. The demo is rough-sounding it was transferred from an extremely rare, recently discovered acetate but it’s a unique and exclusive glimpse into the inner workings of a young James Brown and The Famous Flames.

By Celo

1 comment:

Anonymous said...


NOTE: Pictures copyright held by photographers. If you are the photographer of any picture and would like it removed please email us.

''Quidquid id est, timeo Danaos et dona ferentis.''

©® 2006-2016 My Favourite Sound© 1.0 (CC Licensed 3.0)