Saturday, 22 August 2009

Various Artists ”Chess Soul Sisters”

Various Artists

”Chess Soul Sisters”
( Compilation Universal/Chess Records, 2005 )
Catalog # 9830155

1. Seven Day Fool – Etta James
2. Yes It’s Good for You – Koko Taylor
3. Liberation Conversation – Marlena Shaw
4. Git Out – Mitty Collier
5. Dirty Man – Laura Lee
6. Take Me for a Little While – Jackie Ross
7. Don’t Knock Love – Barbara Carr
8. In Orbit – Joy Lovejoy
9. Cheater Man – Irma Thomas
10. Don’t Mess with the Messer – Koko Taylor
11. Fire – Etta James
12. I Don’t Wanna Fuss – Sugar Pie DeSanto
13. I Surrender – Fontella Bass
14. We Got Something Good – Irma Thomas
15. It’s How You Make It Good – Laura Lee
16. My Babe – Mitty Collier
17. Tease Your Man – Koko Taylor
18. Rescue Me – Fontella Bass
19. Sally, Go Round the Roses – The Jaynetts
20. California Soul – Marlena Shaw

Artwork By [Cover Design] – Arthole & Green Ink
Compiled By, Other [Sleevenotes] – Lois Wilson
Mastered By [Digitally Remastered] – Gary Moore
Other [Product Management] – Andy Street And Andy Griffin
Photography [Booklet Photos] – Redferns
Photography [Cover Photo] – (C)Danny Lyon / Magnum Photos USA

Compiled by Lois Wilson.
Thanks to Ady Croasdell, Jon Harrington, Neil Scaplehorn and Richard Searling.
Format:Compilation, Remastered, Stereo

First – these are some of the greatest, blazing, knock down bluesy, funkiest tracks ever performed by real singers and backed by real musicians – classics all.
The only downside is that for most long time collectors, you might already have virtually of the tracks (FIRE by Etta James, RESCUE Me by Fontana Bass – not exactly hard to find tracks, etc …no real rare tracks) but instead of having to make your own mix set, Chess/Mojo has done that for you.
And really, these songs and performances are so great with GREAT sound quality, this set might just replace a bunch of older records anyway.
From Amazon

By Pier

1 comment:

Anonymous said...



NOTE: Pictures copyright held by photographers. If you are the photographer of any picture and would like it removed please email us.

''Quidquid id est, timeo Danaos et dona ferentis.''

©® 2006-2016 My Favourite Sound© 1.0 (CC Licensed 3.0)