Sunday, 30 August 2009

The Wild Magnolias ”The Wild Magnolias & They Call Us Wild”

”The Wild Magnolias & They Call Us Wild”
( Sunny Side Records, 2007 )
Catalog # B000QEILXI

Disk 1
01. Handa Wanda
02. Smoke My Peace Pipe (Smoke It Right)
03. Two-Way-Pak-E-Way
04. Corey Died on the Battlefield
05. (Somebody Got) Soul, Soul, Soul
06. Oh! When The Saints
07. Meet The Boys (On The Battlefront)
08. Ho Na Nae
09. (My Big Chief Has A) Golden Crown
10. Shoo Fly (Don’t Bother Me)
11. Iko Iko
12. Smoke My Peace Pipe (Smoke It Right) (Single Edit)
Disk 2
01. They Call Us Wild
02. New Suit
03. Ah Anka Ting Tang Boo Shanka Boo
04. Fire Water
05. Injuns, Here We Come
06. New Kinda Groove
07. Jumalaka Boom Boom
08. We’re Gonna Party
09. Ho Na Nae

The New Orleans Mardi Gras “Indian Tribe” the Wild Magnolias issued a critically acclaimed LP for Polydor in 1974. Bo Dollis, Monk Boudreaux, June Johnson, Jr., Crip Adams, Tobias Johnson, Bubba Scott, and James Smothers brought the rich, fervent flavor of New Orleans to vinyl, backed by Willie Tee’s band. A second LP They Call Us Wild was released in Europe a year later but not in the US.
The present 2record set includes the music of the 2 LPs plus tracks never released before.

They Call Us Wild” (1975)

Wilson “Willie Tee” Turbinton, his brother Earl, and their New Orleans Project band were the first to provide full musical backing to the Mardi Gras Indian street chants and thus expose this culture to the world. The rhythmic dexterity behind these tunes is just stunning–and I’m especially fond of Earl’s soaring soprano sax solo on “Smoke My Peace Pipe.” This set contains the complete contents of “The Wild Magnolias” (1974) and “They Call Us Wild” (1975), with all bonus tracks from the 1993 release of the former. The 1994 release of “They Call Us Wild” was the first in the US–after almost 20 years! The newcomer to digital format is the single mix of “Smoke My Peace Pipe.” Besides being shortened from over six minutes to 2:39, the single replaces the verse beginning with “There’s nothin’ like a real good high…” with more innocuous lyrics to make the tune more radio-friendly.
I have the Polydor discs, but this would be worth buying on original record for the booklet as described in the editorial review. Even so, you haven’t seen Indian costumes until you’ve seen them in person. And on the subject of booklets–hey Amazon! When will you have digital booklets as iTunes already does?
Sadly, this work is now part of the Turbinton brothers’ legacy. Earl passed away on August 3, 2007, followed by Wilson on September 11.
By StatMan69 (Amazon)

More on this stuff here.

More Wild Magnolias on Oufar Khan blog.

By Pier

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

for both:


NOTE: Pictures copyright held by photographers. If you are the photographer of any picture and would like it removed please email us.

''Quidquid id est, timeo Danaos et dona ferentis.''

©® 2006-2016 My Favourite Sound© 1.0 (CC Licensed 3.0)