Monday, 31 August 2009

Pieces Of A Dream ”The Best Of Pieces Of A Dream”

Pieces Of A Dream

The Best Of Pieces Of A Dream”
( Blue Note Records, 1996 )
Catalog #35800

1 Intro
2 Club Jazz (Club Mix)
Remix – James K. Lloyd
3 Keep It Smooth
4 Baby It’s Your Turn Now
5 The Cool Side
Producer – Rich Crawford
6 My Love
Producer – Steven Ford
7 For You
Producer – James K. Lloyd
8 MT. Airy Groove
9 Rising To The Top
Producer – Cliff Dawson, Preston Glass
10 Fo Fi Fo
11 Warm Weather
12 Round Midnight
Producer – Lenny White
13 The Shadow Of Your Smile
14 Say La La
Producer – Lenny White

Credits & Notes:
Producer – Glen Barratt(tracks: 3, 4, 6),
Grover Washington, Jr. (tracks: 8,10, 11, 13)
Executive Producer: George (Gar) Roberts III

The Best of Pieces of a Dream is an excellent 14-track collection that contains highlights from the fusion group’s ’80s recordings for Manhattan Records. Among the selections are “Keep It Smooth,” “Baby It’s Your Turn Now,” “Cool Side,” “Mt. Airy Groove,” “Rising to the Top,” “Warm Weather,” and “Shadow of Your Smile.” It’s both a good introduction to the group’s sound and an excellent summation of their peak years.
By Stephen Thomas Erlewine (AMG)

Founded in 1975 by James K. Lloyd (keyboards), Cedric Napoleon (bass) and Curtis Harmon (drums), they performed all over Philadelphia as Classic Touch, A Touch of Class and Galaxy. The group changed their name to Pieces Of A Dream in 1979, a nod to “Pieces of Dreams,” a Stanley Turrentine tune that the group performed. They were discovered by Grover Washington, Jr. whilst performing as the house band on TV show “City Lights”. Grover went on to produce their first three albums Pieces of a Dream, We Are One and Imagine This. Soon after completing Joyride, their last effort for Elektra, they moved to EMI/Blue Note and went on to record seven more albums. During this period, the group amicably parted ways with long time friend Cedric Napoleon. Signed with Heads Up International in 2001 and have so far released four albums: Acquainted with the Night, Love’s Silhouette, No Assembly Required and Pillow Talk.
Personnel currently consist of Lloyd, Harmon, Eddie Baccus Jr.(saxophone), Todd Parsnow (guitar) and Tracy Hamlin (vocals).
Were (and still are) managed by the drummer’s father and uncle, Danny and Bill Harmon, respectively.
From Discogs

”MT. Airy Groove” 12” Inch here.

By Pier

1 comment:

Anonymous said...



for the 12inch:


NOTE: Pictures copyright held by photographers. If you are the photographer of any picture and would like it removed please email us.

''Quidquid id est, timeo Danaos et dona ferentis.''

©® 2006-2016 My Favourite Sound© 1.0 (CC Licensed 3.0)