Tuesday, 25 August 2009

The Souljazz Orchestra “Freedom No Go Die”

The Souljazz Orchestra

“Freedom No Go Die”
( LP Do Right Records, 2008 )
Catalog # DR021LP

1. Mista President (6:36)
2. Blind Leading the Blind (3:27)
3. Insurrection (3:39)
4. Freedom No Go Die (5:48)
5. Mojuba (5:11)
6. Secousse Soukous (5:08)
7. Little Habana (5:03)
8. Mugambi (4:10)
9. Creator Has a Masterplan (7:34)

Personnel & Credits:
Artwork By – Matt Bilewicz
Bass – Pierre Chrétien
Clavinet – Pierre Chrétien
Drums – Philippe Lafrenière
Electric Piano – Pierre Chrétien
Engineer – Jason Jaknunas
Flute – Zakari Frantz
Guitar – Pierre Chrétien
Mastered By – Jason Jaknunas
Organ – Pierre Chrétien
Percussion – Philippe Lafrenière
Producer – Jason Jaknunas , Pierre Chrétien
Saxophone [Alto] – Ray Murray, Zakari Frantz
Saxophone [Baritone] – Ray Murray
Saxophone [Soprano] – Zakari Frantz
Saxophone [Tenor] – Steve Patterson
Written-By – Pierre Chrétien, Popo Murigande (tracks: A1, A4, B2)

Recorded at Metropolitan Studios, Ottawa
Format:Vinyl, LP, Album

2007 sophomore release from The Souljazz Orchestra. Hailing from Ottawa, The Souljazz Orchestra combine Jazz, Funk, African and Latin music while touching on politics and spirituality. Think: James Brown meets up with Tito Puente and they all hook up to jam at Fela Kuti’s house. This high-energy release focuses mainly on Afro Beat music and features the vocals of Mighty Popo, Alanna Stuart and Marielle Rivard. The album is already creating a buzz on the dancefloor Jazz scene and receiving worldwide attention. But it’s the track “Mista President” that is blowing up the spot! The single has been getting mad support and airplay by the likes of Gilles Peterson, Spiritual South and Dom Servini.

By Celo

1 comment:

Pippo said...


NOTE: Pictures copyright held by photographers. If you are the photographer of any picture and would like it removed please email us.

''Quidquid id est, timeo Danaos et dona ferentis.''

©® 2006-2016 My Favourite Sound© 1.0 (CC Licensed 3.0)