Wednesday, 26 August 2009

Nina Simone “Released”

Nina Simone

( Compilation Camden Records, Australia, 1997 )
Catalog # 43155

01 The Backlash Blues
02 Blues for Mama
03 Go to Hell
04 I Shall Be Released
05 It Be’s That Way Sometimes
06 I Want a Little Sugar in My Bowl
07 My Man’s Gone Now
08 Why? (The King of Love Is Dead)
09 I Wish I Knew (How It Would Feel to Be Free)
10 Do What You Gotta Do
11 Do I Move You?
12 In the Dark
13 The Look of Love
14 Since I Fell for You
15 Mr. Bojangles
16 Just Like a Woman
17 Turn Me On
18 Nobody’s Fault But Mine
19 Ain’t Got No (I Got Life) [live]
20 I Loves You, Porgy
21 Gin House Blues [live]

This Australian compilation gathers 21 songs from a small period in the career of Nina Simone, the 1967-1968 era of the British hit “Ain’t Got No (I Got Life)” and LPs like 1967’s Silk & Soul. Those looking for a tight collection of Simone’s crossover period will find much to love here, from “It Be’s That Way Sometimes” and “The Backlash Blues” to covers of “I Shall Be Released,” “Just Like a Woman,” and “The Look of Love.” The big caveat, however, is the presence of “Ain’t Got No (I Got Life)” only in a live version, which makes this collection much more difficult to justify. It’s worth picking up on a whim, but definitely not a careful search.
By John Bush (AMG)

By Rob

1 comment:

Anonymous said...


NOTE: Pictures copyright held by photographers. If you are the photographer of any picture and would like it removed please email us.

''Quidquid id est, timeo Danaos et dona ferentis.''

©® 2006-2016 My Favourite Sound© 1.0 (CC Licensed 3.0)