Saturday, 22 August 2009

Nils Landgren Funk Unit “5000 Miles”

Nils Landgren Funk Unit

“5000 Miles”
( LP ACT Records, 2003 )
Catalog # 9271

01. Da Fonk
02. 5000 Miles
03. Six Beauties On A Rooftop
04. Sisters of Arequipa
05. In A Fonky Mood
06. Stop By
07. Roxane
08. Professor Longhair
09. Venus As A Boy
10. Nasty
11. Glen & Steve

Nils Landgren – trombone, vocals
Robert Ostlund – guitar, organ Hammond, vocals
Viktoria Tolstoy – vocals
Daniel Berglund – bass, acoustic bass
Magnus Ostrom – percussion
Siegfried Lock – vocals
Esbjorn Svensson – piano, keyboards, Fender Rhodes, Grand piano
Fred Wesley – trombone
Ake Sundqvist – percussion
Jane Robertson – drums, vocals
Henrik Janson – guitar
Till Bronner – trumpet, flugelhorn
Don Alias – percussion
Tim Hagans – trumpet
Roy Hargrove – trumpet, flugelhorn
Magnum Coltrane Price – bass, electric bass, vocals

On 5,000 Miles, trombonist Nils Landgren and his “Funk Unit” explore a variety of different types of funk. The opening “Da Funk” is a throwaway with some rap, vocals, and brief trumpet blasts by Roy Hargrove. Rap is also utilized a little on “Stop By,” but otherwise this is an instrumental set. Trumpeter Tim Hagans is fine during his two guest appearances, Hargrove has a spot on “Sisters of Arequipa,” and trombonist Fred Wesley takes an excellent solo on “Six Beauties on a Rooftop” (as does altoist Per Rusktrask Johansson). The music ranges from early fusion and an atmospheric funk ballad (”5,000 Miles”) to some late-’60s-type funk jazz and some rockish vamps. Not everything works equally well (some grooves last a minute too long), but in general this set holds one’s interest, and dancers will have nothing to complain about!
By Scott Yanow (AMG)

By Celo

1 comment:

Anonymous said...



NOTE: Pictures copyright held by photographers. If you are the photographer of any picture and would like it removed please email us.

''Quidquid id est, timeo Danaos et dona ferentis.''

©® 2006-2016 My Favourite Sound© 1.0 (CC Licensed 3.0)