Wednesday, 26 August 2009

Duke Lumumba “Jungle Funk”

Duke Lumumba

Jungle Funk
( LP Capitol Records , 1969 )
Catalog # LPCAPI284

01 – Jungle Funk
02 – It’s My Time
03 – Kusasi Rain
04 – Mafam (My part) (Vocal)
05 – Peace Brother (Vocal)
06 – Money No Play
07 – Afrikaloo
08 – Let Me Have Fun (Vocal)
09 – Akagruge
10 – Like It Is

Do yourself a favor, and buy this album you won’t be disappointed! The record is a gem all the way through a really unique mixture of LA soul jazz and African rhythms, with a sound that’s almost like Hugh Masekela sitting in with the Jazz Crusaders! Of course, there’s a lot of Jazz Crusaders in the set as Wilton Felder plays electric bass on the album, giving it a fantastic loping groove but there’s also plenty of unique albums on the record, especially its way of approaching the rhythms with a sly, syncopated groove that’s immediately infectious! Duke’s trumpet solos are great, and they’re augmented by tenor work by Chester Washington and trombone by George Bohannon all nicely grooving on the album’s brilliant blend of jazzy tracks.

By Celo

1 comment:

Anonymous said...


NOTE: Pictures copyright held by photographers. If you are the photographer of any picture and would like it removed please email us.

''Quidquid id est, timeo Danaos et dona ferentis.''

©® 2006-2016 My Favourite Sound© 1.0 (CC Licensed 3.0)