Wednesday, 24 March 2010

Earth,Wind & Fire ''Open Our Eyes''

Earth,Wind & Fire

''Open Our Eyes''

( Cassette, Columbia/CBS Records, 1974 )
Catalog # PC 32712

1 Mighty Mighty 3:03
2 Devotion 4:50
3 Fair But So Uncool 3:39
4 Feelin' Blue 4:28
5 Kalimba Story 4:03
6 Drum Song 5:10
7 Tee Nine Chee Bit 3:45
8 Spasmodic Movements 1:50
9 Caribou 3:25
10 Open Our Eyes 5:06

Personnel & Credits:
Philip Bailey Percussion, Conga, Vocals
Bruce Botnick Engineer
Stacey Boyle Tape Research
Mike Cimicata Packaging Manager
Larry Dunn Organ, Synthesizer, Piano, Keyboards, Moog Synthesizer
Earth, Wind & Fire Arranger
Howard Fritzson Art Direction
David Gahr Photography
Johnny Graham Guitar, Percussion
Ralph Johnson Percussion, Drums
Matthew Kelly Tape Research
Paul Klingberg Mixing
Cameron Marcarelli Assistant
Al McKay Guitar, Percussion, Vocals
Stephan Moore Project Director
Steve Newman Design
j. poet Liner Notes
Leo Sacks Reissue Producer, Mixing
Charles Stepney Arranger, Associate Producer
Maurice White Drums, Vocals, Kalimba, Producer, Mixing
Verdine White Bass, Percussion, Vocals
Mark Wilder Mastering
Joseph Wissert Producer
Andrew Woolfolk Flute, Sax (Soprano), Wind

Andy's note:
Another great tape and a great EWF album,plenty of everything in this soul,jazz,funk before they hit on the mix that made them multi millionaires.

Finally, after almost half a decade of serious dues-paying, Earth, Wind & Fire took off commercially with its fifth album, Open Our Eyes. EWF had been delivering great albums since 1971, but it wasn't until 1974 that the public proved genuinely receptive to Maurice White's mystical and unorthodox take on soul and funk. No longer would EWF enjoy only a small cult following. Thanks to treasures like "Kalimba Song," the gritty funk smoker "Mighty Mighty," and the unforgettable "Devotion," Open Our Eyes became EWF's first gold album and went to the top of the R&B charts. It's also interesting to note that with this album, singer Jessica Cleaves was gone, resulting in the first time EWF had an all-male lineup. The 2001 reissue adds four previously unreleased bonus tracks, one of them a "Walkin' in N'awlins" mix of "Fair But So Uncool," though the other three songs did not appear on the original album in an alternate form.
By Alex Henderson
(AMG. Copyright © 2010 All Media Guide, LLC. Content provided by All Music Guide ®, a trademark of All Media Guide, LLC. All rights reserved.)

By Andy

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

no pw required

NOTE: Pictures copyright held by photographers. If you are the photographer of any picture and would like it removed please email us.

''Quidquid id est, timeo Danaos et dona ferentis.''

©® 2006-2016 My Favourite Sound© 1.0 (CC Licensed 3.0)