Wednesday, 17 March 2010

Joe Henderson ''Double Rainbow (The Music Of Antonio Carlos Jobim)''

Joe Henderson

''Double Rainbow (The Music Of Antonio Carlos Jobim)''
( LP Polygram Records, 1995 )
Catalog # 527222
*Also on Verve Records

1. Felicidade 4:45
2. Dreamer 5:25
3. Boto 6:36
4. Ligia 4:32
5. Once I Loved (Amor Em Paz) 5:25
6. Triste 5:29
7. Photograph 5:02
8. Portrait In Black And White 5:19
9. No More Blues 6:41
10. Happy Madness 3:13
11. Passerim 5:40
12. Modinha 4:32

This is a nice album from Joe Henderson.It is off cassette tape so there is some noticable tape hiss in the quieter passages.However if you like it I recommend you buy the album or purchase the digital download from Verve Records.

The third of tenor-saxophonist Joe Henderson's tribute sets on Verve was originally supposed to be a collaboration with the great bossa nova composer Antonio Carlos Jobim but Jobim's unexpected death turned this project into a memorial. Henderson performs a dozen of the composer's works with one of two separate groups: a Brazilian quartet starring pianist Eliane Elias and a jazz trio with pianist Herbie Hancock, bassist Christian McBride and drummer Jack DeJohnette. In general, Henderson avoids Jobim's best-known songs in favor of some of his more obscure (but equally rewarding) melodies and in some cases (such as a very straight-ahead "No More Blues") the treatments are surprising. Highlights of this very accessible yet unpredictable record include "Felicidade," "Triste," "Zingaro" and a duet with guitarist Oscar Castro-Neves on "Once I Loved," although all of the performances are quite enjoyable. Highly recommended.
By Scott Yanow
(AMG. Copyright © 2010 All Media Guide, LLC. Content provided by All Music Guide ®, a trademark of All Media Guide, LLC. All rights reserved.)

By Andy

1 comment:

Anonymous said...


NOTE: Pictures copyright held by photographers. If you are the photographer of any picture and would like it removed please email us.

''Quidquid id est, timeo Danaos et dona ferentis.''

©® 2006-2016 My Favourite Sound© 1.0 (CC Licensed 3.0)