Monday, 4 January 2010

Houseband "Hot Enuff"


"Hot Enuff"
( LP RCA Victor, RCA Nederland BV, 1979 )
Catalog # PL-44010, PL-44010

A1 - Get Up Offa That Thing 5:53
A2 - Funk It Up 6:30
A3 - Love's Gonna Getcha 5:25
B1 - Sucker For Your Funk 4:40
B2 - Hot Enuff 6:40
B3 - 2-2-Get-Her 3:20
B4 - Hey, What Planet Is This? 3:57

Personnel & Credits:
Backing Vocals - Floor Van Zutphen , Glenn Felter,
Omar Dupree , Steve Clisby , Udell Anderson
Bass - Peter Smid
Drums - Hans Waterman (tracks: B1) , Kim Haworth
Guitar - Harry Hardholt
Keyboards, Synthesizer - Pieter Gerritsen
Mixed By - Phil Dunne
Organ - Jacob Klaasse (tracks: A1, B3)
Producer - Harry Hardholt , Peter Smid
Recorded By - John Sonneveld (tracks: A1 to B3),
Robin Freeman (tracks: B4)
Saxophone [Alto] - Tom Barlage
Saxophone [Tenor] - Ken Spence
Trumpet - Jacob Klaasse , Wouter Van Bemmel
Vocals - Harry Hardholt , Monica Tjen-A-Kwoei, Peter Smid

Recorded at DMC Studio, except "Hey, What Planet Is This?" recorded at Relight Studio
Mixed at "The Mill", Berkshire, England
Mastered at Utopia Studios, London
Manufactured by RCA Nederland BV. from master recordings of RCA Records

Review & Biography:
In 1973 the band starts by accompanying VPRO's radio shows and soon after begins to record its first own music. Key members of the band include Peter Smid, Pieter Gerristen, Harry Hardholt and Frank Sutherland. After changing from funk to soul-gospel and having a continiously changing line-up the band stops in 1981.

The members at that time were:
Harry Hardholt (Guitar & Vocals)
Peter Smid (Bass, Guitar & Vocals)
Lisa Schulte Nordholt (aka Lisa Boray) (Vocals)
Pieter Gerritsen (Organ)
David Weiss (Drums)
Nice Funky/disco Album.

This Amsterdam funk band started out in 1973 as the in-house orchestra at Amsterdam's "Paradiso". They also performed many times at VPRO studios live on the air. In the beginning, their line-up fluctuated a lot, but the core of the Houseband at all times remained: Harry Harthold (v,g, ex-Sleezy Pete) and Peter Smid (b, to Vitesse). The line-up in 1976: Harry, Peter, Marc Holland (dr, ex-Machine and Lobster), Paul Bagmeyer (g, b, ex-Scope, to Rockaway Boulevard, Vitesse), Pieter Gerritsen (o, p, v) and Jacob Klaassen (o, p, to Peewee & Specials). In 1977, Paul left the band; the new additions to the group were Floor van Zutphen (v, ex-Sleezy Pete, in 1978 solo), Wouter van Bemmel (tr), Ken Spence (s, in 1979 to Nina Hagen and Eyes), Monica Tjen-a-kwoei (v, in 1980 to Herman Brood) and Humphrey Knoppel (dr). In 1978, Marc was replaced by Kim Haworth (dr, ex-Sail and Music Garden, in 1979 to The Meteors); that year, the group featured Harry , Peter, Jan-Piet Visser (h, in 1979 to Livin' Blues), Floor, Pieter, Ken, Jacob and Monica. In 1979, the band was reduced to a quartet of Harry, Peter, Pieter and Monica. The new drummer was David Weiss (ex-Fruit). In 1980, when Monica went on to join Herman Brood, Lisa Schulte (ex-American Gypsy) became the new singer. In 1981, the group disbanded. Harry joined Solution and Peter went to Time Bandits. A few people that worked with the Houseband in the beginning have gone on to join other notable bands: Peter Schneider (v, in 1980 solo-LP), Wim Noordhoek (1973), Cees van der Laarse (b, ex-Sight, to Dynamo and Jan Akkerman) and Jo-Alice Banta (Sail).

By Celo


Anonymous said...

pass: myfavouritesound

xensma said...

hell!!i've heard the title funk it up on youtube and this looks like a kick ass tune!!!now i am looking for the two others lp from this band, selfnamed "houseband" and "sympatico", if anyone here may help....thanks for sharing all this funky stuff, and happy new year!

NOTE: Pictures copyright held by photographers. If you are the photographer of any picture and would like it removed please email us.

''Quidquid id est, timeo Danaos et dona ferentis.''

©® 2006-2016 My Favourite Sound© 1.0 (CC Licensed 3.0)