Sunday, 3 January 2010

Hank Crawford "Roadhouse Symphony"

Hank Crawford

( LP Milestone Records, 1985 )
Catalog # M 9140
** Reissue OJCCD 1048-2

Personnel :
Hank Crawford - Alto Sax
Dr. John - Piano, Organ, Vocal on #2
Melvin Sparks - Guitar
Wilbur Bascomb Jr. - Bass
Bernard Purdie - Drums
Randy Brecker, Alan Rubin - Trumpets
Howard Johnson - Baritone Sax
Houston Person - Tenor Sax (Solo on #1)
David "Fathead" Newman - Tenor and Alto Sax (Tenor Solo on # 7)

Recorded at Quadrasonic Sound, New York City ;April 5, 6 and 12, 1985

Tracklisting :
01 Roadhouse Symphony
02 Tragick Magick
03 Jubilee
04 Say It Isn't So
05 Time Is On Our Side
06 Precious Lord
07 Sugar Ditch

Review :
All of Hank Crawford's many recordings for Milestone in the 1980s and '90s are worth picking up by his fans although this reasonably enjoyable outing is not one of the more essential ones. The soulful altoist is joined by Dr. John on piano and organ, guitarist Melvin Sparks, bassist Wilbur Bascomb, Jr., drummer Bernard Purdie and a five-piece horn section (Houston Person and David "Fathead" Newman get a tenor solo apiece) for a set mostly comprised of group originals plus the old ballad "Say It Isn't So" and Thomas A. Dorsey's spiritual standard "Precious Lord"; Dr. John takes a vocal on his "Tragick Magick."
By Scott Yanow [AMG]

By Rob

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

PW : myfavouritesound

NOTE: Pictures copyright held by photographers. If you are the photographer of any picture and would like it removed please email us.

''Quidquid id est, timeo Danaos et dona ferentis.''

©® 2006-2016 My Favourite Sound© 1.0 (CC Licensed 3.0)