Tuesday, 22 June 2010

Eric Kloss ''Eric Kloss & The Rhythm Section"

Eric Kloss

''Eric Kloss & The Rhythm Section"
( LP Prestige Records, 1970)
Catalog # PRCD 24125-2

1 - To Hear Is to See 5:18
2 - The Kingdom Within 6:01
3 - Stone Groove 6:58
4 - Children of the Morning 8:27
5 - Cynara 9:35
6 - Sunshine Superman 10:14
7 - Kay 10:24
8 - Outward Wisdom 6:05
9 - Song to Aging Children 6:58
10 - Consciousness 8:36

Personnel & Credits:
Eric Kloss - Sax (Alto), Sax (Tenor)
Chick Corea - Piano
Jack DeJohnette - Drums
Dave Holland - Bass
Pat Martino - Guitar

Whatever happened to Eric Kloss? A brilliant player by the time he was 20, Kloss has largely disappeared from the jazz scene since his string of excellent recordings (mostly for Prestige and Muse) stopped in 1981. This particular reissue has two complete albums (To Hear Is to See and Consciousness) that feature Kloss with the Miles Davis rhythm section of the period (keyboardist Chick Corea, electric bassist Dave Holland, and drummer Jack DeJohnette); the second session also has innovative guitarist Pat Martino. It is to Eric Kloss' great credit that he keeps up with his more famous sidemen on the adventurous program, which is comprised of his seven originals and one song apiece by Pat Martino, Joni Mitchell, and Donovan ("Sunshine Superman"). The music blends together aspects of the avant-garde and fusion and rewards repeated listenings.
By Scott Yanow (AMG. Copyright © 2010 All Media Guide, LLC. Content provided by All Music Guide ®, a trademark of All Media Guide, LLC. All rights reserved.)

By Celo

1 comment:

Anonymous said...


NOTE: Pictures copyright held by photographers. If you are the photographer of any picture and would like it removed please email us.

''Quidquid id est, timeo Danaos et dona ferentis.''

©® 2006-2016 My Favourite Sound© 1.0 (CC Licensed 3.0)