Monday, 24 May 2010

Lionel Hampton & His Jazz Inner Circle Band ''Live At Salle Pleyel Mar. 9th 1971 - Part One''

Lionel Hampton & His Jazz Inner Circle Band

''Live At Salle Pleyel Mar. 9th 1971 - Part One''
( Laserlight/RGE Records, Brasil, 1994 )
Catalog # 36133

1.Opening Theme
2.Air Mail Special
3.Big Joe
5.Sunny Side Of The Street
6.Mess Is Here
7.Ghost Of A Chance
8.Robbin's Nest

Personnel & Credits:
Kenneth Bolds - Drums
Milt Buckner - Piano
Philippe Carles - Photography, Research Assistant, Redaction
Marc Exiga - Executive Producer
Daniel Filipacchi - Producer
Guido Frasca
Eustis Guillemet, Jr. - Bass
Lionel Hampton - Piano, Drums, Voices, Vibraphone
Illinois Jacquet - Sax (Tenor)
Michel Laverdure - Liner Notes
Billy Mackel - Guitar
Marie-Francoise Paris - Coordination
Bob Snyder - Clarinet
John Spruill - Piano
Frank Ténot - Producer

Starring Illinois Jacquet & Milt Buckner!
Exemplary jazz in front of an appreciative Parisian audience.
* Also on Trema Records (1991-2001, Catalog # 710587)

In 1971, Lionel Hampton still had it, especially when he played Europe. Things were a little more in the Las Vegas showtime mode by then, but he had the players to make all that strutting seem appropriate. On this Paris date, Hampton's band included no less than organist and pianist Milt Buckner and tenor men Illinois Jacquet and Chuck McLendon, as well as Tommy Gambino on alto with six others. Hampton's own form is solid. He never wavered on the vibes even in his latest days; they seemed to be an extension of who he was as a person. The program here is all swinging blues that range from chestnuts like "Sunny Side of the Street"; Benny Goodman's "Air Mail Special"; "Ghost of a Chance"; Jacquet's steaming "Robin's Nest"; and, of course, "Big Joe," among others. The playing is flawless, the inspiration is in the delight of delivering this classic music to an appreciative audience, and the showmanship was spectacular, despite its familiarity. This may not be the most necessary live Hampton date, or his greatest band, but it is a worthy disc for fans to own.
By Thom Jurek
(AMG. Copyright © 2010 All Media Guide, LLC. Content provided by All Music Guide ®, a trademark of All Media Guide, LLC. All rights reserved.)

By Pier

1 comment:

Anonymous said...



NOTE: Pictures copyright held by photographers. If you are the photographer of any picture and would like it removed please email us.

''Quidquid id est, timeo Danaos et dona ferentis.''

©® 2006-2016 My Favourite Sound© 1.0 (CC Licensed 3.0)