Sunday, 2 May 2010

Amayo's Fu-Arkist-Ra "Afrobeat Disciples"

Amayo's Fu-Arkist-Ra

"Afrobeat Disciples"
( LP Amayo Records, 2001 )
Catalog # Amayo

1 Fist Of Flowers 9:40
2 M.T.T.T. (Mother-Talker-Tic-Tock) 11:48
3 Lion Awakes (Live) 18:48
4 Happy Lion (Live) 11:53

Personnel & Credits:
Backing Vocals - Myra Vega (tracks: 1, 2)
Bass - Nick Movshon
Congas - Ernesto Abreac
Djembe - Kunle Ade (tracks: 3, 4)
Drums - Dylan Fusillo, Jojo Quo, Ola Jagun (tracks: 3)
Guitar - Ben Richardson (tracks: 3, 4), Dave Hahn, Luke O'Malley (tracks: 1, 2)
Keyboards - Duke Amayo
Mixed By - Gabriel Roth, Victor Axelrod
Saxophone [Alto] - Stuart Bogie
Saxophone [Baritone] - Martin Perna
Saxophone [Tenor] - Michael 'H Bomb' Herbst (tracks: 1, 2)
Shaker - Giancarlo Luigi
Trombone - Aaron Johnson
Trumpet - Jordan McLean, Michael Irwin (tracks: 3, 4), Todd Simon (tracks: 1, 2)
Vocals - Duke Amayo

AMAYO'S FU-ARKIST-RA is a full afrobeat ensemble based in Williamsburg, Brooklyn, that ranges from 7 to 12 members including several members of the Antibalas Afrobeat Orchestra. In addition to composing and arranging the songs, Amayo sings and plays keyboards for the band, intermixed with charged performances of traditional African lyrics and movement. Extended family members include Jojo Kuo & Ola Jagun (former members of Fela Kuti's Egypt '80); Kunle Ade (son of juju legend King Suny Ade); and Dick Griffin, formally with Sun Ra.
This exciting perpetual union of experiences, tradition and martial arts, not only represents a diverse spectrum of backgrounds and high grounds, but also carries the fused DNA of Kung Fu masters and philosophers of the Orient, Freedom Fighters, the Royal warriors of Benin/Ife Kingdoms and Fela Kuti. The musical result is a lethal weapon-web called FU-Afrobeat.

By Celo

1 comment:

Anonymous said...


NOTE: Pictures copyright held by photographers. If you are the photographer of any picture and would like it removed please email us.

''Quidquid id est, timeo Danaos et dona ferentis.''

©® 2006-2016 My Favourite Sound© 1.0 (CC Licensed 3.0)