Friday, 23 October 2009

Billie Poole "Confessin' The Blues!" (FLAC)

Billie Poole

"Confessin' The Blues!"
(LP Riverside, 1962)
Catalog # RLP 458

Personnel :
Billie Poole - Vocals
Junior Mance - Piano
Kenny Burrell - Guitar
Bob Cranshaw - Bass
Mickey Roker - Drums

Tracklisting :
01 Confessin' the Blues
02 Them Blues
03 God Bless the Child
04 I Worry 'Bout You Mapp
05 Jailhouse Blues
06 Stormy Weather
07 The Man That Got Away
08 Keep Your Hand on Your Heart
09 Ain't That Love
10 Alone Together
11 When Your Well Runs Dry
12 Stormy Monday

* Billie Poole - Confessin' The Blues! (Riverside RLP 458, RS 9458; Fantasy OJCCD 1886-2)

Review :
This set brings back the second of two Riverside albums cut by singer Billie Poole. Other than a single from a few years earlier, the two sets were Poole's entire recording legacy. Poole was an expressive singer who felt most comfortable on blues-oriented material. For this date, she was assisted by an unbeatable rhythm section (guitarist Kenny Burrell, pianist Junior Mance, bassist Bob Cranshaw, and drummer Mickey Roker) and performed mostly vintage material, with a few more recent songs added for variety. Poole sounds fine on such tunes as "Confessin' the Blues," "Stormy Weather," "Alone Together," and even "God Bless the Child."
by Scott Yanow (AMG)

Links in comments

By Rob


Anonymous said...
PW : myfavouritesound

Anonymous said...

copy at 320k here:

NOTE: Pictures copyright held by photographers. If you are the photographer of any picture and would like it removed please email us.

''Quidquid id est, timeo Danaos et dona ferentis.''

©® 2006-2016 My Favourite Sound© 1.0 (CC Licensed 3.0)