Thursday, 19 August 2010

Milt Jackson ''Opus De Jazz''

Milt Jackson

''Opus De Jazz''
(Savoy MG-12036)

Label: Savoy
Year: 1955
Format/Bitrate: mp3/ 256 kb/s
Time: 34min
Size: 63,8 mb
Milt Jackson – Opus De Jazz (Savoy MG-12036)
October 28, 1955

1 – Opus De Funk
2 – Opus Pocus
3 – You Leave Me Breathless
4 – Opus And Interlude

Milt Jackson – Vibes
Frank Wess – Flute & Tenor Sax
Hank Jones – Piano
Eddie Jones – Bass
Kenny Clarke – Drums

One of the best-known 50s jazz sessions from the Savoy label. A laidback classic that’s a great illustration of the label’s shift in modes after the early bop years
This Savoy CD is a duplicate of the original LP although it lacks the fine liner notes included on the Arista/Savoy 1978 LP. The four selections (which unfortunately total under 34 minutes) are excellent, particularly a fun version of Horace Silver’s blues “Opus De Funk” in which vibraphonist Milt Jackson, flutist Frank Wess and pianist Hank Jones have a long tradeoff. The quintet (which also includes bassist Eddie Jones and drummer Kenny Clarke) swings nicely throughout the three blues and lone ballad (“You Leave Me Breathless”). This is not essential, but it is enjoyable music. ~By Scott Yanow (AMG)

Source: internet

1 comment:

Anonymous said...


NOTE: Pictures copyright held by photographers. If you are the photographer of any picture and would like it removed please email us.

''Quidquid id est, timeo Danaos et dona ferentis.''

©® 2006-2016 My Favourite Sound© 1.0 (CC Licensed 3.0)