Monday, 9 August 2010

Mike LeDonne ''The Groover''


Mike LeDonne

''The Groover''
( Savant SCD 2100 )

Rock With You
Blues for McCoy
Little Mary
I'm Gonna Make You Love Me
Deep Blue
Sunday in New York
The Groover
On the Street Where You Live

Mike LeDonne: Hammond B3 organ
Eric Alexander: tenor saxophone
Peter Bernstein: electric guitar
Joe Farnsworth: drums

No frills or new age gimmickry here, as Hammond B-3 ace Mike LeDonne and his laudable band-mates’ lay down a fertile groove quotient throughout this winning studio date. The quartet transmits a glistening aura via its upbeat gait and fluent sense of swing within the classic jazz organ-combo format. LeDonne is an energizer as he comps, and prods the band into climactic opuses with his silvery chord clusters and blazing right-hand lead phrasings.

By Bill


Anonymous said...


Anonymous said...

Many thanks for sharing this!

This is straight ahead jazz organ combo groove. Great playing and good production, except that the organ bass is just a tad too low in the mix. I just listened to the whole record in a row and it's great!


Thanks again.

/Jazz Organ Fan

NOTE: Pictures copyright held by photographers. If you are the photographer of any picture and would like it removed please email us.

''Quidquid id est, timeo Danaos et dona ferentis.''

©® 2006-2016 My Favourite Sound© 1.0 (CC Licensed 3.0)