Sunday, 7 February 2010

Various Artists ''Hip Hammond & Soulful Grooves''

Various Artists

''Hip Hammond & Soulful Grooves''
( Compilation, Blue Note/EMI Records, 2006 )

Disc 1:
01. Face to Face (“Baby Face” Willette)
02. Brown Sugar (Freddy Roach)
03. And Satisfy (Stanley Turrentine)
04. Yeh Yeh (The Three Sounds)
05. The Jody Grind (Horace Silver)
06. Midnight Special (Jimmy Smith)
07. Along Came John (Big John Patton)
08. Grantstand (Grant Green)
09. Good Gracious (Lou Donaldson)
10. Our Miss Brooks (Harold Vick)
11. Preach Brother (Freddie Jackson)
12. Us Three (Horace Parlan)
Disc 2:
01. Wavy Gravy (Kenny Burrell)
02. Sara’s Dance (Stanley Turrentine)
03. Plaza de Toros (Larry Young)
04. Fat Judy (Big John Patton)
05. Hi Heel Sneakers (Blue Mitchell)
06. Dem Tambourines (Don Wilkerson)
07. Googa Mooga (Freddy Roach)
08. Amanda (Duke Pearson)
09. Funky Mama (Lou Donaldson)
10. Blackjack (Donald Byrd)
11. Egypt Land (Fred Jackson)

The Blue Note Explosion (2 disc set) is a compilation series from the team that brought you the Blue Series, the biggest selling jazz series ever. Main compiler Dean Rudland has compiled many successful compilation series in addition to his work at Blue Note, including BGPs Super Breaks and Super Funk compilations and EMI / Stateside's Minnie Riperton 'Les Fleurs' and David Axelrod 'Anthology'. The compilations will all cover distinct historical and stylistic phases of the label's history, gathering together tracks that are rarely anthologised alongside some of the more well known cuts. Each one will then be housed in a distinctive sleeve that looks like a Blue Note compilation that was done at the specific period covered by the release, but then left on a shelf and forgotten about until now. It creates a unique and wonderfully Blue Note feel to the whole series.

Links in comments.

By Pier


Anonymous said...



Bill said...

Nice to have these as a collection, I`ll play them as I drive. Thank you for the share.

NOTE: Pictures copyright held by photographers. If you are the photographer of any picture and would like it removed please email us.

''Quidquid id est, timeo Danaos et dona ferentis.''

©® 2006-2016 My Favourite Sound© 1.0 (CC Licensed 3.0)