Wednesday, 3 February 2010

Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers “Straight Ahead”

Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers

“Straight Ahead”
( Concord Jazz Records, 1981 )
Catalog # CJ-168

Personnel & Notes:
Wynton Marsalis(tp)
Bobby Watson(as)
Bill Pierce(ts)
James Williams(p)
Charles Fambrough(b)
Art Blakey(ds)
Rec. Jun. 1981, live at 'Keystone Korner', San Francisco

(A-1)Fallin' In Love With Love
(A-2)My Romance
(A-3)Webb Cuty
(B-1)How Deep Is The Ocean
(B-3)The Theme

One of the best recordings by Art Blakey's 1981 Jazz Messengers, this set features Wynton Marsalis (then 19) on "How Deep Is the Ocean" and other illustrious sidemen (including altoist Bobby Watson, tenor saxophonist Bill Pierce and pianist James Williams) playing such group pieces as "Falling in Love with Love," "My Romance" and Watson's "E.T.A." Highly recommended.
By Scott Yanow (AMG)

Not available on the blog free edition.

By Andy


Anonymous said...


HotBeatJazz said...

the link isn't avaiable

NOTE: Pictures copyright held by photographers. If you are the photographer of any picture and would like it removed please email us.

''Quidquid id est, timeo Danaos et dona ferentis.''

©® 2006-2016 My Favourite Sound© 1.0 (CC Licensed 3.0)