Monday, 1 August 2011

Peterson, Brown, Jackson & Hayes ''Reunion Blues''

Last post in this batch is another Oscar Peterson album on MPS Germany.
The vinyl is in excellent condition and it would be rude not to share!

Review by Scott Yanow (AMG):
Pianist Oscar Peterson joins up with his old friends, vibraphonist Milt Jackson and bassist Ray Brown, in addition to his drummer of the period, Louis Hayes, for a particularly enjoyable outing. After a throwaway version of the Rolling Stones' "(I Can't Get No) Satisfaction," the all-star quartet performs Jackson's title cut, Benny Carter's ballad "Dream of You," and four standards. Although not up to the excitement of Peterson's best Pablo recordings of the 1970s, this is an enjoyable album.

Includes liner notes by Horst Schade.
Adapter: Stefan Kassel.
Liner Note Author: Richard Palmer.
Recording information: MPS Studio, Villingen, Germany (07/1971); MPS-Tonstudio, Villingen, Germany (07/1971).
Translator: John Wilde.

Personnel includes:
Oscar Peterson – piano
Milt Jackson – vibraphone
Ray Brown – bass
Louis Hayes – drums

1) Satisfaction
2) Dream Of You
3) Someday My
4) A Time For Love
5) Reunion Blues
6) When I Fall In Love
7) Red Top

By Andy


Anonymous said...
This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.
Anonymous said...
This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

NOTE: Pictures copyright held by photographers. If you are the photographer of any picture and would like it removed please email us.

''Quidquid id est, timeo Danaos et dona ferentis.''

©® 2006-2016 My Favourite Sound© 1.0 (CC Licensed 3.0)